• Post Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other followers

  • Categories

  • Pages

A Homemade Life author Molly Wizenberg

The other night Jess and I went Brookline Booksmith to hear a favorite author, Molly Wizenberg, speak and do a reading from her book A Homemade Life. I read this book within the last year and while I was reading, felt like I was chatting with a good friend in her kitchen over a cup of tea. I would read a few pages before bed and 9 times out of 10 wound up having a dream about food and would wake up hungry! I love how Molly was encouraged to start a food blog (called Orangette) by a friend of hers, back when food blogs were a lot less common, and it spiraled into a best selling book.

Here is a blurb from Amazon.com about her book:

In A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes from My Kitchen Table, Molly Wizenberg recounts a life with the kitchen at its center. From her mother’s pound cake, a staple of summer picnics during her childhood in Oklahoma, to the eggs she cooked for her father during the weeks before his death, food and memories are intimately entwined. You won’t be able to decide whether to curl up and sink into the story or to head straight to the market to fill your basket with ingredients for Cider-Glazed Salmon and Pistachio Cake with Honeyed Apricots.

The bookstore was packed with fans. Jess and I had to stand in the back! Molly read a chapter from her book about her father and potato salad and I remembered reading that chapter, craving a mayo-drenched potato salad. And I hate mayo drenched anything, but Molly makes it sound so mouth watering. She answered great questions about her book, her new restaurant, and her favorite restaurants in Seattle. Afterwards she signed books and I decided to buy one too. This goes to show how much I really loved her book. I rarely buy books (unless it’s a nerdy nutrition book) and I never read a book twice, but this book I plan to. It was that good. Have you read it? Here’s a sneak peak at one of my favorite parts: Molly met her husband through her blog. Awww love at food sight.


My favorite thing that Molly said was that food does not exist in a vacuum. You can’t look at food alone. Food has everything to do with the people you eat with, where you are, how you feel, what you cook, and the experience of it all. I couldn’t have said it better myself. For all you food lovers, this is a must read.

4 Responses

  1. Sounds really neat. I might have to purchase the book from amazon. I love reading interesting memoirs and stuff about food, so this sounds like the best of both worlds!

  2. i'm definitely going to add this to my "summer reading list" It's sounds great. and the finding true love through blogging deal sounds way to good to be true! i love these success stories!

  3. So jealous you got to see her! I read the book last summer and loved it too – and her recipes are great!

  4. I'm going to request this book from the library. It really sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

